Siyabonga - Laughing hearts for South Africa e.V.

Overmannweg 38

99094 Erfurt

Germany

Email: info@verein-siyabonga.de

Phone: +49-361-225 4115

Donation Acc. Pax-Bank Cologne

BIC: GENODED1PAX

IBAN: DE04 3706 0193 5004 8780 10

Stay up to date
Siyabonga - Laughing Hearts for South Africa
Links
  • White Facebook Icon

© 2019 Verein Siyabonga - Laughing Hearts for South Africa   |   Data Security   |   

Township

The project "Walk In The Light" aims to support the residents of the township Haniville close to Pietermaritzburg to cope with their difficult circumstances. Townships are quarters of poor people, adjacent to big cities, which are remnants from apartheid. The people struggle with high unemployment rates, violence and HIV.

 

The project employee a social worker who supports the township residents in the dealings with government institutions, makes home visits and coordinates the transportation to doctor´s appointments as well as funerals. 

 

Part of the project is a small farm which is directly next to the township. They grow Rosmarin and rose geranium to produce essential oils. Part of the oils is used for the production of natural cosmetic products, which are sold under the brand of SONATUR. The revenue of the sale is reinvested in the farm. Therefore the project creates employment opportunities for the township residents and generates an income for the project itself. 

 

On the premisses of the farm there is also a community center with a room for church services, the choir, a learning center with a small library and a gym Hence, the projects offers a wide range of education and employment opportunities for the residents. In addition there is a small garden which can be used by the township residents to grow their own vegetables. 

 

Our organisation enables the "Walk In The Light" to provide transportation to doctor’s appointments and government institutions as well as to purchase schooling material, hygienic articles, medication and clothes. Further, we are supporting in funding of the salaries of the social worker, the priest and farm workers.

Here you can find the latest annual report of "Walk In The Light".

Siyabonga - Lachende Herzen für Südafrika e.V.

Overmannweg 38

99094 Erfurt

Deutschland

Email: info@verein-siyabonga.de

Phone: +49-361-225 4115

Spendenkonto Pax-Bank Köln

BIC: GENODED1PAX

IBAN: DE04 3706 0193 5004 8780 10

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden
Siyabonga - Lachende Herzen für Südafrika e.V.
Links
  • White Facebook Icon

© 2019 Verein Siyabonga - Lachende Herzen für Südafrika   |   Datenschutz   |   

Township

Das Projekt "Walk In The Light" hat zum Ziel, die Menschen im Township Haniville bei Pietermaritzburg bei ihren schwierigen Lebensbedingungen zu unterstützen. Townships sind die Armutsviertel angrenzend an große Städte, die als Überbleibsel der Apartheid zurück geblieben sind. Es herrscht dort eine hohe Arbeitslosigkeit, Gewalt- und HIV-Rate. 

Das Projekt beschäftigt eine Sozialarbeiterin, die die Townshipbewohner bei Behördengängen unterstützt, Hausbesuche macht und Kran­kentransporte sowie Bestattungen koordiniert.

Zum Projekt gehört eine kleine Farm, die direkt neben dem Township liegt. Dort werden Rosmarin und Rosengeranien angebaut, aus denen ätherische Öle gewonnen werden. Ein Teil der Öle wird für die Herstellung von Naturkosmetikprodukten verwendet, die unter der Marke SONATUR verkauft werden. Der Erlös fließt zurück in die Farm. Somit werden Arbeitsplätze für Townshipbewohner geschaffen und ein eigenes Einkommen für das Projekt generiert.

Auf dem Gelände der Farm gibt es außerdem ein Gemeindezentrum mit einem Gottesdienstraum, Jugendchor, einem Lernzentrum mit kleiner Bibliothek und einem Fitnessraum. Somit wird ein breites Bildungs- und Beschäftigungsangebot für alle Altersgruppen geschaffen. Außerdem gibt es Gemüsegärten, die von den Townshipbewohnern bepflanzt werden können.

Unser Verein unterstützt das Walk In The Light mit Geldern, um Krankentransporte und Fahrten zu Behörden durchführen zu können, sowie um Schulmaterialien, Hygieneartikel, Medikamente und Kleidung zur Verfügung stellen zu können. Darüber hinaus unterstützen wir bei der Finanzierung der Gehälter von der Sozialarbeiterin, dem Pfarrers und den Farmarbeitenden.

Hier finden Sie den letzten Jahresbericht zu Walk In The Light.